Department of medical physiology

Physiology is the study of how the body works. The systems of the body including the cardiovascular, respiratory, neural, renal, endocrine, gastrointestinal and reproductive systems — are examined using approaches ranging from molecular and cellular to whole-organism levels.
The Department of Medical Physiology is part of the Medical School at the Mount Kenya University. It offers and participates in courses and programs of study for undergraduate and medical students and soon to graduate students too. The Department also offers an intercalated program me for MBChB students who perform very well during their pre-clinical years, major in Physiology is also soon to be offered through the Medical School.
Faculty members of the Department of Physiology maintain active research programs covering a wide range of topics with emphasis on
Cardiovascular and Respiratory Physiology

  • Neurophysiology
  • Renal and Transport Physiology
  • Endocrine, Metabolic and Reproductive Physiology
  • Eye/Visual Systems Physiology